first_imgColaisti Inis Eoghain v Omagh CBSAt The Scarvey, Buncrana.Referee – Mr Shaun McLaughlinDonegal is still gripped in football fever as a result of Donegal’s All Ireland victory over two weeks ago, as Ulster Colleges Football makes a welcome return to The Scarvey in Buncrana on Tuesday afternoon when Colaisti Inis Eoghain entertain Tyrone side Omagh CBS in a crucial Group A game which will help to determine quarter final places in the Rannafast Cup. Inis Eoghain recorded a good victory over Our Lady’s Castleblaney in their opening game played in Omagh and followed up with a similar result last week when they travelled to Cookstown and defeated St Colman’s, from Newry, by seven points. Having already secured their place in the quarter finals, they now know a win will see them top the group which would see them paired against the runners up in Group C in two weeks time. They will however avoid St Eunans who have also qualified for the quarterfinals for the first time in twenty-six years, an indication of the standard of the competition. The Inishowen boys side have really gelled together and made good progress since they defeated St Pats Maghera in their very first game over two years ago in the Corn na nOg Cup and they also performed very well in last season’s Brock Cup, before losing out in the Shield quarter final.Already a number of players have featured on the Donegal U15 Development squad and several more were members of the successful Donegal U16 side, which captured the Buncrana Cup during the summer. Players such as Peter Doherty, Ultan Doherty, Darren Gallagher, Georgie Kelly, Tony McCleneghan, Sean McHugh, Caolan Mailey and John Campbell are all destined for a bright future as a result of their involvement with Colaisti Inis Eoghain under the supervision of Gary Duffy and his dedicated backroom team.Omagh however have a proud footballing tradition in colleges football and will be no pushover in this game, boasting a side which won the Corn na nOg two years ago but lost out in The Nannery and Dalton Cup finals last year before reaching the Brock Cup semi final which they lost to St Pats of Cavan. Player to keep an eye on, some of which are sure to figure in Tyrone teams in the future are, Rion McKenna, Aiden Fullerton, Shane McGuigan, Andrew McGrath, Gavin Slane, Aidan McSorley, Padraig McGirr and hotshot Patrick O’Neill who is capable of scoring points on either side of the park.The late afternoon throw in time of 4.00 pm should help to bring a few parents and supporters from the schools along to the game and witness for themselves the level of football these boys are now playing at and also see the progress made as a result of an initiative which began as far back as 2009. Colaisti Inis Eoghain: Jamie Barr, Tommy Byrne, Peter Doherty, Stephen O Donnell, Ultan Doherty, Darren Gallagher, Darragh Browne, Georgie Kelly, Tony McCleneghan, Mark Coyle, Sean McHugh, Christopher McLaughlin, Caolan Mailey, John Campbell, Joshua Lafferty, Christopher McCormick, Ronan Hartin, Ryan Doherty, Danny McCarron, John Collins, Jonathan McDaid, Ryan McLaughlin, Phil Brennan,Thursday 11th October 12.30 pmUlster Colleges – Danske BankCorn na nOg Cup – Group AColaisti Inis Eoghain v St Patrick’s CavanAt Killyclogher, Referee Stephen McNameeThis will be a journey into the unknown for another young Colaisti Inis Eoghain side as they make their debut in the Danske Bank, Corn na nOg Cup. Ryan Davenport from Carndonagh is the man in charge this year and Neil Toye, Martin Mailey and Damian McIntyre will assist him. Training has been going well since they came together at the end of August and the boys have recorded wins in two challenge games to date. Some the successful Naomh Padraig U12 and U13 side are likely to feature, but all seven clubs and four schools help to form a large panel for this competition.The boys will have been encouraged by the success of previous teams over the past two years and the buzz around Inishowen since Donegal’ All Ireland triumph will have done them no harm either. The management team have been impressed by the commitment shown by the players so fare, but it is all about development for the future and indications are that another group of Inishowen players are indeed on track.Colaisti Inis Eoghain: Matty Porter, Noel McLaughlin, Tiernan Devine, James Monagle, Nathan McLarkey, PJ Walker, Mathew McDermott, Chris O’Donnell, Padraig McCarron, Oisin McGonigle, Shane McColgan, Ruaidhri McCarron, Niall Kelly, Sean Winston, James Breslin, Dermot Doherty, Sean Murray, Fergal Gallagher, Michael Doherty (T), Conor Browne, Joe Doherty, Ciaran Bradley, Denver Kelly, Josh Ardbuckle, Aaron (G) Doherty, Callum (Bobby) Porter, Ethan O’Kane, Cathal McLaughlin, Christopher McKinley, Pauric Gillan, Christopher Doherty, Kyle Dougal, Declan Diver, Ciaran Bonner, Gareth Foynes, Conor Quigley, Ben Doherty.GAA: COLAISTE INIS EOGHAIN IN ULSTER COLLEGES ACTION was last modified: October 8th, 2012 by BrendaShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)Tags:GAA: COLAISTE INIS EOGHAIN IN ULSTER COLLEGES ACTIONlast_img read more

Read More →